Pandora, Chipmunks, and Bob Marley

When I’m driving around town with my kiddos, I have a lovely Pandora radio station that is alnost always playing: Silly Songs for Kids. It has Sandra Boyton, Veggie Tales, The Fox Song, The Gummy Bear Song, among many many more favorites.

I am generally a stickler for not blending my stations. I have a “Kids Educational” station with School House Rock songs, and a “Kids Movie Songs” station with… You guessed it, songs from kid movies.

But one Chipmunk song is a family favorite. Three Little Birds. I’ve started singing it to my baby when he seems distressed, and he seems to like it too.

The other day, I was looking for the song on YouTube (which I have a playlist of the kid favorites, too) and discovered this was originally a Bob Marley song. I feel kinda silly for not figuring that out sooner, and anyone hearing me singing it (at the doctor office, for example) probably didn’t realize my inspiration was Alvin, Simon, and Theodore… but I still love the song.

Don’t worry about a thing
‘Cause every little thing gonna be alright
Singing’ don’t worry about a thing
‘Cause every little thing gonna be alright

Rise up this mornin’
Smiled with the risin’ sun
Three little birds
Pitch by my doorstep
Singin’ sweet songs
Of melodies pure and true
Saying’, (this is my message to you)

Singing’ don’t worry ’bout a thing
‘Cause every little thing gonna be alright
Singing’ don’t worry (don’t worry) ’bout a thing
‘Cause every little thing gonna be alright

Leave a Reply

