Water… So much water.

Water is the best drink you can give your body, I’m sure most of you know that already. Have you ever thought that might be the key to weight loss?

I recently (ok, a year or so ago… But that’s recent in the life of a 30-something) learned that you should daily drink at least half your weight in ounces… So a 100-pound person should be drinking 50 ounces of water a day. A 200-pound person needs 100 ounces. I am not a fan of drinking water, generally… And if weighing less means I don’t need to drink as much water, that is great motivation right there!

I am a pop drinker. (Or soda, if you rather.) I only like diet, always have although not because I was “on a diet,” and generally Diet Pepsi or Diet Dr. Pepper… There was a brief stint where I drank Diet Coke because the husband didn’t want to buy 2 different brands and I switched for him… Although he drank Coke Zero, so we were still buying 2 different pops… But he quit the pop and I switched to the aspartame-free Diet Pepsi. Aspartame, if you didn’t know, is a neurotoxin, which is something I’d rather not poison my body with (but who has time to get into that when this post is about… Water!)

I also have self-control issues. If pop is in the house, I will choose to drink that. No matter what my noble goals may be.

I also am known to put that water flavoring/”vitamin drops” in my water. Big victory recently, as in the past few days, I have been drinking water straight from the bottle… Well, the bottle poured into my mason jar glass, but close enough. (Why bottled? Ask my husband… He does not want the fluoride in the city water to get in our bodies. Our toothpaste is flouride free too, although we do cook/boil things in the sink water…)

But I have found one trick, and it seems weird… I’m going to give away personal information (if you choose to do the math… I’m not doing the math for you) that a lady generally doesn’t reveal. Drinking 3.5 24oz glasses of water is way easier than drinking 6.5 16-oz bottles (because the bottles we buy are 16.9 ounces, which seems like a really weird number to me, but it is what it is.)

I can drink 3 24oz glasses in a day no problem *insert finger snap here* yet struggle to drink the same amount, volume wise, in smaller bottles. 

Some say drinking out of a straw helps, some say having a “special” cup makes it more “fun” (which it does… Especially for my children then stealing drinks out of the special cup, making it difficult for me to keep track of my hydration!) Different strokes for different folks. Find what works for you and stick with it!

If you thought pregnancy was the only reason a lady would visit the bathroom so frequently, think again! I hope my body adjusts, sooner rather than later. Or I just might float away…

Leave a Reply

